Technical Service Bulletins

Subaru Upgrades Knock Sensors

Order Reprints
Subaru Upgrades Knock Sensors

This bulletin applies to a number of Subaru vehicles, including 2012-2017 Legacy and Outback, 2012-2016 Impreza, 2013-2017 Crosstrek, 2011-2017 Forester naturally aspirated (NA) and direct injection turbo (DIT), 2015-2017 WRX, 2013-2017 BRZ and 2012-2014 Tribeca.

The engine knock sensor has been changed which helps improve assembly line efficiency and durability. In some cases, the check engine light may illuminate and a knock sensor-related DTC set in the ECM memory (P0327, P0328, P0332 and P0333). The knock sensor for DIT engines is now utilized for NA engines to improve durability and resistance to heat.

The part number for Japan-built vehicles is 22060AA180. The part number for USA-built vehicles is 22060AA18A.

When replacing the knock sensor, tighten to a torque value of 17.7 ft.-lbs. Do not use anti-seize on the threads.

Related Articles

Subaru Changes Knock Sensor

Subaru Upgrades ABS Sensor

Subaru Upgrades the Oil Switch

You must login or register in order to post a comment.