Technical Service Bulletins

Subaru trans learn

Order Reprints
Subaru trans learn

This TSB applies to a number of Subaru models, including 2004 and later Forester with 4AT and turbo, 2005 and later Forester 4AT naturally aspirated, 2005 and later Impreza 4AT naturally aspirated, 2006 and later Impreza 4AT turbo, 2005 and later Legacy 4AT 2.5L naturally aspirated, 2008 and later Legacy 5AT 3.0L, 2008 and later Legacy 5AT turbo, and 2008 and later Tribeca 5AT 3.6L models.

This bulletin announces that the automatic transmission learning control procedure can now be performed using the SSMIII with the latest version. Details can be found on the SSMIII help menu under “Learning and inspection mode related to AT.”

The learning control needs to be performed when the TCM is reprogrammed or replaced, when the transmission is disassembled or replaced, when the valve body is replaced, or when Clear Memory 2 is executed.

In addition, if a vehicle is experiencing a harsh shift, shift shock and/or delayed shift with no diagnostic codes set and nothing is found during basic diagnosis, the learning procedure should be performed.

Related Articles

Jaguar Offers Trans Enhancement

Infiniti just won’t learn

Liftgate Re-learn

You must login or register in order to post a comment.