AAPA announces scholarship winners

Order Reprints

The Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance (AAPA) reports 30 students have been selected to receive the 2015 Advancing the Aftermarket and General College Scholarships.

These 30 students were selected from a pool of more than 150 applications from across the country.

Since 2001, AAPA has awarded scholarships to deserving students in their pursuit of a post high school education. Each recipient will receive a $1,500 scholarship to help offset the expense of attending a college, university or trade school of their choice. Since the program's inception, over $350,000 has been awarded to students throughout the United States.

Among the 30 scholarship recipients is Alex Gonzalez, the winner of the Frank V. Maggio Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given to a deserving student to commemorate the life of Frank V. Maggio and to continue his legacy of honesty, trustworthiness and his continual pursuit of excellence through education. Maggio was an employee of Auto-Wares Inc. and believed that partnering with his customers would lead to their ultimate mutual success.

Auto-Wares sponsors this scholarship with an additional $1,000 which will assist Gonzalez in his pursuit of studying Automotive Technology at Grand Rapids Community College.

Fifteen of the scholarship recipients are students who have chosen a career path within the automotive aftermarket. The 2015 Advancing the Aftermarket Scholarship winners are: Alex Gonzalez, Holland, Mich.; Nicholas Ozgar, Phillipsburg, N.J.; Sedrick Hatfield, Olathe, Kan.; Sarah Wilkerson, Santa Barbara, Calif.; Kyle Van Tassel, Hamburg, N.J.; Casey Karsten, Manning, Iowa; Jacob Koch, Batesville, Ind.; Dylan Hengesteg, Northwood, Iowa; Zachary Carey, New Windsor, N.Y.; Cynthia Jones, Tyler, Texas; Kyle McDonald, Franklin, Tenn.; Gunnar Dockan, Yorkville, Ill.; Arturo Rodriguez, Marine City, Mich,; Elizabeth Niemi, Howell, Mich.; and Emily Farrell, Newtown, Pa.

The remaining 15 scholarship recipients are students who are employed or have parents employed by an Alliance affiliated warehouse, parts store, or certified service center. The 2015 General College Scholarship winners are: McCaela Soper, Medford, Okla.; Mariah Beikman, St. Francis, Kan.; Austin Evans, Westerville, Ohio; Nick Laing, Humboldt, Iowa; Ariel Riley, Alburtis, Pa.; Troy Holstad, Jenison,Mich.; Derek Eilert, Morrice, Mich.; Samantha Still, Hope, Ark.; Brittney Moore, Chatham, Mich.; Harleigh Aldridge, Star City, Ark.; Jordan Kempf, Fremont, Wis.; Garrett Hefter, Allenton, Wis.; Alondra Loera, Cathedral City, Calif.; Melissa Klaib, Irvine, Calif.; and Andy Klaib, Irvine, Calif.

Related Articles

Leadership 2.0 Scholarship Winners Announced

Pep Boys Announces 'Top Techs' Winners

ATMC announces winners of training awards

You must login or register in order to post a comment.