News Technical Service Bulletins

Subaru Changes Knock Sensor

Order Reprints

Examples of the old (left) and new (right) knock sensor.

This bulletin applies to 2012-2017 Subaru Legacy and Outback, 2012-2016 Impreza, 2013-2017 Crosstrek, 2011-2017 Forester, 2015-2017 WRX, 2013-2017 BRZ and 2012-2014 Tribeca vehicles.

Knock sensors have been redesigned that increase durability. In some cases, the check engine light may illuminate and a knock sensor-related DTC may set in PCM memory (P0327, P0328, P0332 and P0333). The new knock sensor is now utilized to improve durability and resistance to heat.  The new knock sensor was incorporated into production on November 18, 2016. The new knock sensor P/N for Japan-built vehicles is 22-60AA180. The P/N for U.S.-built vehicles is 22060AA18A. The torque value for installing the knock sensor remains at 17.7 ft-lb. Do not add any anti-seize compound to the sensor retaining bolt threads.

Related Articles

Subaru Upgrades Knock Sensors

Subaru Changes Frame Bolts

Updated knock sensor

You must login or register in order to post a comment.