SMP Awards $20,000 to Blue Streak Scholarship Winners 

Dec. 16, 2020

Standard Motor Products Inc. (SMP) has announced the winners of  its annual Blue Streak ‘Better Then, Better Now’ Automotive Scholarship Contest: Jade Etchart, of  Cedar City, Utah; Ndayishimiye Bisamaza, of Phoenix, Ariz.; Mario Zaragoza, of Mabton, Wash.; and Mikel Cole,  of Klamath Falls, Ore. 

All four winners will receive a $5,000 scholarship to apply toward their education in automotive  technology or repair at a technical school or college. 

Hundreds of students entered the competition by completing an online questionnaire that was evaluated on relevance, creativity and thoughtfulness relating to the automotive repair industry. Upon  review, judges believed that Etchart, Bisamaza, Zaragoza, and Cole best exhibited the qualities reflecting the Standard Blue Streak brand. 

Commenting on the announcement, John Herc, vice president engine management marketing stated,  "We are proud to continue supporting the technicians of the future. I can say with confidence that the auto care industry is in good hands. I congratulate the winners and thank all those who participated.” 

The competition was open to legal residents of the 50 United States, District of Columbia and Puerto  Rico who are 18 years of age or older and currently enrolled full-time in high school or in an accredited two- or four-year college, university or post-high school educational program. 

For more information, visit


University of the Aftermarket, Northwood University
Roy Kent, executive vice president of business development, member support and strategy for Federated Auto Parts, is pictured during the Aftermarket 101 that was held this past spring in Farmington Hills, Mich.