Virtual AAPEX Experience Names Shop, Service Award Winners

Nov. 5, 2020

Brian Sump, president of Avalon Motorsports and Urban Auto Care in Denver, Colo., is the winner of the AAPEX Shop Owner of the Year award.

Sump "has used his business acumen and a detailed, process-based management philosophy to grow into a multi-location shop operator," according to AAPEX.

Jason Sexton of Dynamic Automotive in Frederick, Md., is the winner of the AAPEX Service Advisor of the Year award and is described by AAPEX "as a teacher (and) a true advisor who builds an unbelievable relationship with customers."

Norm Schultz of Interstate Auto Care in Madison Heights, Mich., is the recipient of the AAPEX Technician of the Year award. A 20-year auto service veteran, he is an ASE-certified master technician and "the epitome of professionalism and dedication," according to AAPEX.

“Winning this award is sweet acknowledgement that this industry appreciates the level of time and effort that I, along with the hundreds of thousands of skilled technicians, put into our profession," he says.

All three winners were announced today during the Virtual AAPEX Experience, which runs through Nov. 5.


University of the Aftermarket, Northwood University
Roy Kent, executive vice president of business development, member support and strategy for Federated Auto Parts, is pictured during the Aftermarket 101 that was held this past spring in Farmington Hills, Mich.