MEMA Honors Three Industry Leaders With Triangle Awards

Nov. 12, 2020

The Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA) presented its highest honor, the Triangle Awards, to industry leaders James Kamsickas, chairman and chief executive officer, Dana Inc.; Mike Mansuetti, president, Robert Bosch LLC; and Don Walker, chief executive officer, Magna International Inc., during the OESA Automotive Supplier Conference on Nov. 11.

“For more than 45 years, the Triangle Award has been given periodically to that person or persons, or organization, whom MEMA and our divisions choose to honor for selfless contribution to the vehicle supplier industry,” said MEMA President & CEO Bill Long. He added, “This year, as we faced unprecedented challenges, the presentation of the awards is even more meaningful. All three of these leaders helped amplify the voice of vehicle suppliers on the national stage.”

The prestige of the Triangle Award arises from its selective process. “From inception, the Triangle Award was not intended as an annual award,” Long said. “An award is presented only when a truly-deserving candidate advances the vehicle supplier industry. This year, three leaders really stood apart and earned this prestigious recognition.”

“The MEMA Triangle Award furthers the belief that many of the most important contributions to the industry are made by those who work quietly and effectively behind the scenes, out of the glare of public accolade, to advance the interests of the entire industry,” said MEMA Chairman Tim Musgrave, who also serves as president and CEO, Pressure Systems International. “This is our rare opportunity to publicly recognize that kind and level of selfless work.” 

Throughout their careers, each of these professionals has worked tirelessly and effectively to make the industry better and stronger, especially in the area of government advocacy. 

Because MEMA represents the largest sector of manufacturing jobs in the United States, its advocacy efforts are critical to the industry as well as the economic strength of the country. 

Through their individual efforts, and by working closely with MEMA staff, these three individuals collectively helped shape vital language on the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), which replaced the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and were critical to the continued success of the industry. Each also played a vital role in the safe restart of operations following the industry shutdown due to the coronavirus pandemic, helping the industry rise to meet the health and safety demands of hundreds of thousands of workers in our industry.  

“Their vision and passion for the industry, coupled with their high sense of values and caring for their employees, truly exemplify the MEMA Triangle Award’s mission of honoring selfless contributions to the vehicle supplier industry,” said Long. “We are proud to add their names to the list of industry legends who have previously received the MEMA Triangle Award.”

Some of the past recipients of the MEMA Triangle Award include the late Joseph M. Magliochetti, of Dana Corp.; Tom Gallagher, of Genuine Parts Co.; L. Gene Stohler, of Masco Tech Inc.; John M. Riess (then of The Gates Rubber Co.); the late Larry McCurdy (then of Moog Automotive); and Jack Reilly (then of Tenneco Automotive). A complete list of past recipients can be found here.

MEMA represents the interests of member companies through four market-focused divisions: Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA); Heavy Duty Manufacturers Association (HDMA); MERA - The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing; and Original Equipment Suppliers Association (OESA). To learn more about the vehicle supplier industry, visit